Sign in with
Your question

Purchasing and Installing RAM

Last response: in Components
August 10, 2011 11:53:47 PM

Ok, so ive been thinking of buying some additional RAM for my gaming rig. Im a bit tech savvy, but when it comes to the process of actually installing something into my computer, im not too professional. Well, my question is, when i check the webshops for RAM chips, the pictures always show like, two separate pieces. When i see Tuts on YT, they always have one piece that fits into my motherboard. I.E: http://www.komplett.no/img/p/640/b9819429-21d3-4643-96a... they look so small, compared to the ones in the videos.
August 11, 2011 12:02:36 AM

I don't know what Youtube videos you are seeing, but there are different kinds of memory, which can be found in different shapes and sizes.

If you want to be sure you're getting the right kind, check a site like Crucial.com.

They may even have a specific tutorial for the ram they say you need to order.

August 11, 2011 12:42:21 AM

MysticMiner said:
I don't know what Youtube videos you are seeing, but there are different kinds of memory, which can be found in different shapes and sizes.

If you want to be sure you're getting the right kind, check a site like Crucial.com.

They may even have a specific tutorial for the ram they say you need to order.

Well, the ones in the picture have the same name as the ones i currently have installed, so im thinking maybe they are the same ones. Also, i heard something about having pairs of the same type being better than multiple different ones(the chips you know). You know if theres any truth to that?
Related resources
August 11, 2011 1:32:49 AM

Are you referring to RAM frequency?
August 11, 2011 9:23:10 AM

Engima said:
Are you referring to RAM frequency?

No, im referring to the actual SIZE of the RAM chips, physical size.
August 11, 2011 2:02:06 PM