First Build Ever Please Help

ct654

Distinguished
May 15, 2011
This is my first attempt at building my own system. I am doing it because I would like to save some money and still get the components I want.

My computer use consists of some gaming (civilization, Dawn of War, etc). I also use mutiple screens and run 2 or more applications at a time. I would like for this computer to last at least 5 years. The last computer I had was a Dell laptop that I have had for four years.

Case: Cooler Master HAF 932

MOBO: Intel DP67BGB3

CPU: Intel Core i5-2500K 3.3GHz 6MB

HDD: Intel 320 Series 80 GB SATA 3 Gb-s SSD
and a Western Digital 1 TB SATA 6 GB/s 7200 RPM 64 MB

RAM: Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1600
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231445

PSU: Corsair CMPSU-750TC 750-Watt TX Series

Video Card: GeForce GTX 560 Ti

I had a few concerns,
1. Is the PSU adequate?
2. Is the RAM any good?
3. There seems to be some questions about the motherboard, is it a good one?
4. Will my case be cool enough with just the provided fans?
5. I am a little confused about the video card and way there are different 560 Ti's?
6. Are all the components compatiable?
Any other comments or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

IH8U

Distinguished
Dec 29, 2007
1. PSU is more than adequate (excellent choice btw). (should handle a SLI config too)

2. G.Skill is very good, just make sure you have clearance between them and your heatsink (the heat spreaders are tall).

3. Usually I go with ASUS, or Gigabyte myself, but I don't see anything glaringly wrong with your choice.

4. The HAF is a monster case, with great airflow. So good there (unless you decide the fans are too loud).

5. The card is fine, the different ones are for: OC (over clocked), Aftermarket cooling, memory amounts/speeds, shaders, and manufacturers.

6. The build looks good to me, I'd get an aftermarket heatsink but that's about it. (be sure to use a 64bit OS)

ct654

Distinguished
May 15, 2011