Why do I lose video when my motherboard is still running?

pietro1904

Honorable
Apr 29, 2012
So this is my first build in a while and I'm not used to motherboards that don't have built in video cards. for some reason every time i go to install windows from my disk drive I only get about 2 minutes of video from my video card and then it crashes my cpu fan and other fans still run. Is it because I have no video driver?

my speccs are

msi 8701 fuzion motherboard

amd atholon II processor

msi N210 graphics card

2gb of ram

seagate 500 gb harddrive

500w power supply

dvd/cd reader/writer

I'm sure its something stupid I looked over but I'm stumped lol

Make sure your graphics card is seated properly (sometimes easy not to get it all the way down). If it's seated correctly, try in a different slot.
I'm a little concerned on the ram since 2GB is the minimum needed to run Win7 64bit but that really shouldn't be a factor...
Are you sure the computer is "crashed" and not just loading without video showing?

pietro1904

Honorable
Apr 29, 2012
I tried what u said and I still have the same result, and I left it on for 2 hours just to see what it would do an it just stays black screen the whole time and wont let me shut down unless I unplug it.

pietro1904

Honorable
Apr 29, 2012
yes I'm able to nav bios as long as I want I get the single beep when turning on but once I start trying to install windows is when I have a problem. Doesn't the video card need a driver? but idk how to load it cuz it doesn't have windows. I'm used to the motherboards with the card built in. Its weird to cuz I can let it sit in the setup and not move through it to start installing and it will still crash its not like its a certain point in the install. Its more like 2-3 min in no matter what windows is doing it shuts off