Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Torn between CPU vs Storage, Performance vs Price

Last response: in Systems
May 20, 2011 2:41:06 AM

First off, I've built a few systems, but I'm no expert. Also, I'm not planning on overclocking.

I'm building a new budget gaming system and have narrowed it down to one of two prospective builds. I already have an old Radeon 4800, which I plan to upgrade soon. The price difference between the following builds is only about $20. I'm interested in getting some opinions about which build would provide the best overall gaming experience. Thank you all in advance.

Common Elements:
Win7 64

MB:
ASRock H61M/U3S3

RAM:
G.SKILL NS 4GB (2 x 2GB)

Case:
RAIDMAX SMILODON ATX-612WBP Black 1.0mm SECC Steel ATX Mid Tower Foldout MB Computer Case With 500W Power Supply

Build A: (favors storage speed over CPU speed)
CPU:
Intel Core i3-2100 Sandy Bridge

Storage:
OS - OCZ Vertex Series OCZSSD2-1VTX30GXXX 2.5" 30GB SATA II MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)
Gaming (Onboard RAID 0): 2 X Western Digital Caviar Black WD5002AALX 500GB 7200 RPM SATA

Build B: (favors CPU speed over Storage speed)
CPU:
Intel Core i5-2500K Sandy Bridge

Storage:
OS & Gaming (one drive for each): 2 x Western Digital Caviar Black WD5002AALX 500GB 7200 RPM SATA

Best solution

a b à CPUs
May 20, 2011 2:58:57 AM

In my opinion, definitely build 2, but with a slight modification. You are using a h61 board, which means no overclocking. Grab an i5-2400 it's the same chip but without the unlocked multiplier.

The reason is that SSD's will only get cheaper and faster. They are new tech, and the way of the future. All an SSD does is increase boot times. A better CPU means higher FPS which equals better gaming experience.
Which would you choose?
Also, consider getting these drives: http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-Spinpoint-3-5-Inch-Intern... Faster drive. Save $60 or get 2x storage for same price!
May 20, 2011 3:47:13 AM