New Gaming Comp Builder - $1500ish

DarkBuilder

Distinguished
May 20, 2011
I've had two laptops over the course of the last 7 years and have finally decided it's time to get that desktop I've always wanted that can handle games at a very high level, though not the highest break-the-bank level. The problem is that I have never built my own system before, though I know a lot more now than I did a week ago, having researched this quite a bit lately.

I'm looking to be able to play games like Dragon Age, The Elder Scrolls V (when it comes out), Diablo III (same), Oblivion, and games that would come out over the next 3 years or so with the settings up really high, close to maxed out if possible, but not required. I would like to play multiplayer games with the graphics turned up fairly high, but I don't need ultra-incredible precision. I just need enough to get by without lag interruptions whenever things get really involved due to there being several hundred units on the screen (something I've struggled with and accepted for years). I don't have any other major needs for my computer such as graphic design or anything like that. It would just be basic web browsing, some movie viewings, stuff like that, probably with multiple applications open at once (though not while gaming).

After discussing this with some other people, this is my proposed final build. I'm most concerned about the parts being compatible and ensuring that I haven't selected some well-known-to-be-inferior product or made any fundamental building errors.

Edit: After reading some other posts, here is some other info you might want:

Purchase Date: 1 week
Budget Range: $1500 (might be able to squeeze an extra hundred or so out if it's worth it)
Parts Not Required: Mouse
Preferred Websites: Newegg, TigerDirect, Amazon
Country of Origin: US
Overclocking: Maybe
Crossfire/SLI: Maybe
Monitor Resolution: 1920x1080

Case: COOLER MASTER HAF 922