Solved

Stock Heatsink

Tags:
  • Heatsinks
  • Components
  • Product
Last response: in Components
August 16, 2011 3:04:57 AM

Sorry I know this has been asked numerous times, but always such mixed reviews. I am putting my build together as soon as my video card shows up. I have a I5 2500K, not really planning on overclocking (as i am a complete newb to this, not sure if i need to). Will to stock fan be good or should i just spend and extra 20 or 30 on a after market. If not I plan on spending the extra money on more case fans. Any input would be appreciated.

More about : stock heatsink

August 16, 2011 3:21:19 AM

If you don't plan on overclocking atm, use the stock cooler. It will also support a mild overclock.

My advice is to build your system in the case you select without adding any fans, unless you are adding them for appearance only. After you build your PC, you will test it using Prime95, Furmark, and CPUID's Hardware Monitor to watch temps and make sure your build is solid.

At that time you can look at temps and decide whether - and where - additional cooling is necessary.
m
l
August 16, 2011 3:28:10 AM

Okay, a couple points. First, the i5 2500k is designed for overclocking, hence the -k specification. If you really don't plan on overclocking, then go with a 2500, 2400, 2310 or something like that. It looks like you've already bought it (congrats!), which brings me to my next point, that you really ought to overclock! There is so much untapped potential in the 2500k running at stock. If you're tech-savvy enough to install a new CPU, you're capable of overclocking the thing. You can easily get it to 3.8 GHz (most people say 4.0, but I'm playing it really safe) on the stock cooler. I recommend grabbing a CM Hyper 212+ for less than $30 shipped to cool your CPU:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...
It's the best value in the HSF market, the perfect complement to your 2500k, which is the best value in the CPU market.
m
l