Sign in with
Your question

6970's fried, but how?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
March 11, 2011 6:40:50 PM

Ok how could this have happened?????

New system built in late Jan and has been running great since then.
Yesterday, received new/replacement MSI B3 motherboard, so I swap the old board with the new. The only thing that changing in this rig is the motherboard. After getting new board back in and cpu, mem, video cards (dual 6970's) back in and check all the connections are tight and everything reconnected, I go to powerr up and only case fan came on. Turn power off and back on, then hit power, both 6970s start smoking from the power connections!! Immediatly unpluged power from PSU, but I'm affraid it's too late. The smell of fried circuits is terrible.
WTF!
I carefully checked all connections while I was taking it all apart and found nothing. I have extensive experience building pc's and have never fried anything. The Only thing different was the MotherBoard.
As I said this system had been running since January with no problems. I have no idea what else might have fried and no idea what caused it.

Any ideas on how this could have happened? Brand new MSI motherboard out of the box is the ONLY thing different.

Dave

More about : 6970 fried

a c 125 U Graphics card
a b V Motherboard
March 11, 2011 6:48:55 PM

What are the full system specs? Especially the PSU?? And why did you need to replace the motherboard?
m
l
a b U Graphics card
March 11, 2011 6:53:42 PM

Most important : Didnt you void the warranty????????
m
l
Related resources
March 11, 2011 7:20:28 PM

wolfram23 said:
And why did you need to replace the motherboard?

He probably RMA-ed his defective sandy-bridge MB so he can use the SATA 3G ports.
m
l
a c 603 U Graphics card
a b V Motherboard
March 11, 2011 7:23:24 PM