Sign in with
Your question

Overclocking: Does it reduce the life of a GPU?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
March 12, 2011 4:02:44 AM

Simple question with perhaps a complicated answer.

I'm new to hardware and contemplating my first build.

Will be looking at Nvidea's 560Ti series or ATI's 6750 series.

Both can be overclocked quite well according to my reading.

What are the risks of following a guided overclocking process?

Come to think of it... I would have the same question of CPU's (i.e. 2500k or 2600k)

If a factory build (non-overclock) gets the job done today, is it better to leave it at factory settings vs. overclocking to increase the lifespan of a hardware piece?

Or does it really not matter at all provided it's supported with proper peripherals (cooling,etc.)???

Thanks!!!
March 12, 2011 4:17:39 AM

I'm not sure about the lifetime reduce of GPU if you OC it, but if you're happy with your GPU's performance, don't OC.. if you're not, then research a lot before you decide!!
m
l
a c 147 U Graphics card
a b K Overclocking
March 12, 2011 4:38:42 AM

KiwiRich said:

Will be looking at Nvidea's 560Ti series or ATI's 6750 series.