Archived from groups: rec.photo.digital (More info?)
Has anyone on this newsgroup had any experience with www.USAphotonation.com? I have a friend who recently bought a Nikon 8800 from them. I am also
interested, and they seem to have very good prices. His only "negative" was
that they *tried* to sell him all sorts of extra accessories. However, I
have never heard of this site and a little wary of the extra-low prices.
I know there is a site that "ranks" various online photography web sites,
but I haven't been able to find it. I am especially interested in personal
experiences, but would also appreciate it if someone can provide a link to
that site.
Archived from groups: rec.photo.digital (More info?)
"MaryL" <carstan101@yahoo.comTAKE-OUT-THE-LITTER> wrote in message
news_0Ud.32829$Zr.13052@okepread03...
> Has anyone on this newsgroup had any experience with
> www.USAphotonation.com? I have a friend who recently bought a Nikon 8800
> from them. I am also interested, and they seem to have very good prices.
> His only "negative" was that they *tried* to sell him all sorts of extra
> accessories. However, I have never heard of this site and a little wary
> of the extra-low prices.
>
> I know there is a site that "ranks" various online photography web sites,
> but I haven't been able to find it. I am especially interested in
> personal experiences, but would also appreciate it if someone can provide
> a link to that site.
Archived from groups: rec.photo.digital (More info?)
"Cynicor" <j.t.r.u..p.i..n...@speakeasy.net> wrote in message
news:X-2dnbrlY8E9Pb3fRVn-3A@speakeasy.net...
>
> "MaryL" <carstan101@yahoo.comTAKE-OUT-THE-LITTER> wrote in message
> news_0Ud.32829$Zr.13052@okepread03...
>> Has anyone on this newsgroup had any experience with
>> www.USAphotonation.com? I have a friend who recently bought a Nikon 8800
>> from them. I am also interested, and they seem to have very good prices.
>> His only "negative" was that they *tried* to sell him all sorts of extra
>> accessories. However, I have never heard of this site and a little wary
>> of the extra-low prices.
>>
>> I know there is a site that "ranks" various online photography web sites,
>> but I haven't been able to find it. I am especially interested in
>> personal experiences, but would also appreciate it if someone can provide
>> a link to that site.
>
> http://www.resellerratings.com/seller8278.html. Six month reviews are 1.11
> out of 10. (B&H = 8.84, BuyDig = 8.22, for comparison.)
>
Thanks! That's the site I was looking for -- and it looks like
USAphotonation is at the bottom of the list. That makes me think I should
definitely avoid them, even though my friend had no problem. Super-low
prices often do come at a "price" I don't want to pay. I had planned to
order from B&H (higher prices, but I have had great service from them in the
past), but I don't know that they would be able to ship in time to get the
rebate because of the fire. Fortunately, no one was killed or seriously
injured. That is far more important than my "rebate."
Archived from groups: rec.photo.digital (More info?)
That's pretty poor ... in fact VERY poor!
"Cynicor" <j.t.r.u..p.i..n...@speakeasy.net> wrote in message
news:X-2dnbrlY8E9Pb3fRVn-3A@speakeasy.net...
>
> "MaryL" <carstan101@yahoo.comTAKE-OUT-THE-LITTER> wrote in message
> news_0Ud.32829$Zr.13052@okepread03...
> > Has anyone on this newsgroup had any experience with
> > www.USAphotonation.com? I have a friend who recently bought a Nikon
8800
> > from them. I am also interested, and they seem to have very good
prices.
> > His only "negative" was that they *tried* to sell him all sorts of
extra
> > accessories. However, I have never heard of this site and a little
wary
> > of the extra-low prices.
> >
> > I know there is a site that "ranks" various online photography web
sites,
> > but I haven't been able to find it. I am especially interested in
> > personal experiences, but would also appreciate it if someone can
provide
> > a link to that site.
>
> http://www.resellerratings.com/seller8278.html. Six month reviews are
1.11
> out of 10. (B&H = 8.84, BuyDig = 8.22, for comparison.)
>
>
Archived from groups: rec.photo.digital (More info?)
"RSD99" <rsdwla.NOSPAM@gte.net> wrote in message
news:zJ4Ud.39358$EL5.23697@trnddc05...
> That's pretty poor ... in fact VERY poor!
>
>
>
>
>
> "Cynicor" <j.t.r.u..p.i..n...@speakeasy.net> wrote in message
> news:X-2dnbrlY8E9Pb3fRVn-3A@speakeasy.net...
>>
>> "MaryL" <carstan101@yahoo.comTAKE-OUT-THE-LITTER> wrote in message
>> news_0Ud.32829$Zr.13052@okepread03...
>> > Has anyone on this newsgroup had any experience with
>> > www.USAphotonation.com? I have a friend who recently bought a Nikon
> 8800
>> > from them. I am also interested, and they seem to have very good
> prices.
>> > His only "negative" was that they *tried* to sell him all sorts of
> extra
>> > accessories. However, I have never heard of this site and a little
> wary
>> > of the extra-low prices.
>> >
>> > I know there is a site that "ranks" various online photography web
> sites,
>> > but I haven't been able to find it. I am especially interested in
>> > personal experiences, but would also appreciate it if someone can
> provide
>> > a link to that site.
>>
>> http://www.resellerratings.com/seller8278.html. Six month reviews are
> 1.11
>> out of 10. (B&H = 8.84, BuyDig = 8.22, for comparison.)
>>
>>
>
>
Yes, it looks to me like that site is "scraping the bottom of the barrel."
I'm glad I have received the warning. I'll buy elsewhere, despite the
higher prices. I also noticed that some respondents mentioned that the
extra-cheap prices either were "not available" when they called or were
gray-market items. Not for me!!
Archived from groups: rec.photo.digital (More info?)
MaryL wrote:
> "RSD99" <rsdwla.NOSPAM@gte.net> wrote in message
> news:zJ4Ud.39358$EL5.23697@trnddc05...
>
>>That's pretty poor ... in fact VERY poor!
>>
>>
>>
>>
>>
>>"Cynicor" <j.t.r.u..p.i..n...@speakeasy.net> wrote in message
>>news:X-2dnbrlY8E9Pb3fRVn-3A@speakeasy.net...
>>
>>>"MaryL" <carstan101@yahoo.comTAKE-OUT-THE-LITTER> wrote in message
>>>news_0Ud.32829$Zr.13052@okepread03...
>>>
>>>>Has anyone on this newsgroup had any experience with
>>>>www.USAphotonation.com? I have a friend who recently bought a Nikon
>>
>>8800
>>
>>>>from them. I am also interested, and they seem to have very good
>>
>>prices.
>>
>>>>His only "negative" was that they *tried* to sell him all sorts of
>>
>>extra
>>
>>>>accessories. However, I have never heard of this site and a little
>>
>>wary
>>
>>>>of the extra-low prices.
>>>>
>>>>I know there is a site that "ranks" various online photography web
>>
>>sites,
>>
>>>>but I haven't been able to find it. I am especially interested in
>>>>personal experiences, but would also appreciate it if someone can
>>
>>provide
>>
>>>>a link to that site.
>>>
>>>http://www.resellerratings.com/seller8278.html. Six month reviews are
>>
>>1.11
>>
>>>out of 10. (B&H = 8.84, BuyDig = 8.22, for comparison.)
>>>
>>>
>>
>>
>
> Yes, it looks to me like that site is "scraping the bottom of the barrel."
> I'm glad I have received the warning. I'll buy elsewhere, despite the
> higher prices. I also noticed that some respondents mentioned that the
> extra-cheap prices either were "not available" when they called or were
> gray-market items. Not for me!!
>
> MaryL
They scrape the bottom because they're bottom feeders. They need to go
back to raping babies and leave the adults alone.
You are about to answer a thread that has been inactive for more than 6 months. If you still wish to proceed, please ensure that your posting is original and does not duplicate or overlap any prior responses to this thread.