Sign in with
Your question
Solved

MOBO HELP PLEASE!CPU Fail Light

Last response: in Motherboards
May 5, 2012 6:56:10 PM

Hello,
I just started my new build and first big build for a gaming pc with a sabertooth z77 and ivy bridge.
I did a test boot with my cpu and ram (no gpu atm) and got an cpu failure light right away. There are not any bent or damaged pins on the socket at all, also cpu looks fine other that the pin spots on socket side from the mount.
I just tried to boot the mobo without the cpu and the led for cpu fail came on again went off then the fans started to spin. This sounds like a cpu socket failure to me but I am new to building and just want to be sure and get any feedback before submitting an rma. Also, I was grounded and didn't shock kill my mobo lol.

More about : mobo cpu fail light

a b V Motherboard
May 5, 2012 8:12:04 PM

Post your complete specification
m
l
May 5, 2012 9:13:30 PM

Sabertooth z77 3770k ivy 4x4 ripjaw coolmaster 850w psu
m
l
Related resources
a b V Motherboard
May 5, 2012 10:02:01 PM

Reseamble PC but only put 1 stick of RAM in your rig then startup
m
l
a b V Motherboard
May 5, 2012 10:12:00 PM

If still same check your PSU with another pc or your friends
if psu not having trouble then carefully watch bent pins or smell coming form CPU or MOBO if it comes then RMA it.
m
l
May 5, 2012 10:48:20 PM

THE UNKNOWN said:
If still same check your PSU with another pc or your friends
if psu not having trouble then carefully watch bent pins or smell coming form CPU or MOBO if it comes then RMA it.

At the risk of being an idiot is there a 8pin cpu power cable?
m
l
a b V Motherboard
May 5, 2012 11:00:55 PM

Yeah there's 8pin cpu header
m
l

Best solution

a b V Motherboard
May 5, 2012 11:06:36 PM