Gaming computer present: advice needed!

kugashira

Distinguished
May 23, 2011
Hello!
This is my first time buying parts to build a computer and I really need some help. In a few weeks I will be traveling back to my country and I want to get some parts to build a computer to my little brother (a gaming computer obviously!). I have read many articles and other topics so I have made myself an idea of what I will be buying. I wrote below all the parts I will be buying.

Approximate Purchase Date: within the next 3 weeks.

Budget Range: About 650 $ for the listed parts.

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Just gaming.

Country of Origin: I will be buying my parts in Switzerland.

Overclocking: Not for now, maybe in the future if I learn how to.

SLI or Crossfire: No.

Monitor Resolution: 1920x1080.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------

So far this are the parts that I have selected:

CPU: Intel Core i5-2500K. 200 $

I do not intend to overclock for now, but I buy this version just in case.

Grapics Card: Sapphire Radeon HD 6870 1 GB 200 $

I want a HD 6870 and this one was cheap, is there much difference between this one and the other manufacturers? Or is there any "best option" that is not much more expensive?

And these are the parts I really need advice with:

Motherboard: I'm really confused with the motherboard choice. I want something cheap that won't bottleneck neither the processor nor the graphics card. I need only 1 PCI-E slot, some USB slots, and I will be using only 1 HDD (no SSD). I would like to keep the overclocking option open if that doesn't increaso to much the price. I don't have any experience overclocking and if I did it, it would be some really basic stuff. I would like to keep the price of the motherboard below 150 $, but I could pay a bit more if that would really improve the performance of the computer. I just don't want to pay for "extra stuff" that I won't be using. Any suggestions, please?