Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Computer running to hot

Last response: in CPUs
August 18, 2011 7:05:52 PM

So I am fairly new at messing around with computer hardware, and built a new machine with the help of an IT friend. I have an ASUS M4A78LT-M mother board, 4x2GB DDR3 Samsung M378B5673EH1-CH9 RAM, ATI Radeon HD 6870 1GB DDR5 gpu, AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Processor 3.2GHz. At first I was using a stock power supply that was 330 W but it could not handle the power needs so I upgraded to a 530 W one. Before the new power supply the computer would shut off on its own, then when I put the new one in it was able to last. But, it began to blue screen(artifacting) just before the blue screen, and me and my friend widdled it down to overheating issues. According to coretemp my cores at idle are 55 degrees Celsius, I also have CPUID Hardware Monitor and its temps are about the same. CPUID HW is saying that my GPU temp is around 60 degrees Celsius at idle. My ambient temperature is usually around 75 degrees Fahrenheit. Also I am running windows 7 Home premium service pack 1(dont know if this is usefull) Any insight will help.

More about : computer running hot

a c 154 à CPUs
August 18, 2011 7:40:50 PM

What make/model of power supply are you using? Are you trying to overclock anything? Are you using the stock AMD CPU heatsink/fan (HSF) or an aftermarket version?
Score
August 18, 2011 7:48:45 PM

Stock heatsink/fan (shouldn't it be capable of running on correct temps?)

power supply is a RAIDMAX HYBRID 2 RX-530SS 530W ATX12V V2.2/ EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready Modular LED Power Supply

nothing is being overclocked
Score
Related resources
a c 154 à CPUs
August 18, 2011 7:54:42 PM

I hate to ask, but when you installed the HSF, did you remove any tape or the little plastic cover (varies by OEM HSF used)? Also, have you verified that the HSF fan is actually turning?