Sign in with
Your question

Advice needed for new desktop build

Last response: in Systems
May 24, 2011 6:44:11 AM

Hi, I am going to build a system for performing heavy processing stuff (e.g. running heavy calculation based programs). The budget is around $1300 or less. I'm a beginner in this.

These are the current specs I have in mind.

Processor: i7 2600k (plan to OC to 4.5ghz or optimal based on other specs)
GPU: GIGABYTE HD6850
MOBO: ASUS P8P67 (Any P67 MOBO for recommendation?)
HDD: 1TB SEAGATE 32M 7200 RPM
Memory: 2 x 4GB KINGSTON PC1333 D3 (I do not know if it's worth getting dual channel for faster processing speed. But this system will mainly use for performing calculation based program most of the time. Does a DC 4gb RAM = 8gb?)
Casing: Cooler Master CM 690 II Plus
PSU: Cooler Master 650W GX (A/80+) W/LED (is 650w enough? not planning to make future upgrade.)
CPU Cooler: Not sure if this is necessary. I've heard that i7 2600k does well in dissipating heat itself. But the system may need to run 24/7. If needed, which CPU cooler is recommended?
a b B Homebuilt system
May 24, 2011 7:33:55 AM

Welcome to the forum. Without knowing which programs (and maybe even after knowing :) ) It's hard to know whether the HT on the 2600K is a worthy upgrade, but I'm going to trust that it is. The GPU most likely doesn't need to be quite so powerful, but the specific applications may change this also. RAM - yes, if you have two 4GB sticks in dual channel that equals 8GB total. Don't get that PSU, I'm not sure how much it is, but you'd be better off with a quality 550W model - maybe an Antec Neo Eco 520C. The stock HSF should do fine, even 24/7. If you know which programs will me used mostly, it may help us make some further decisions better.
m
l
May 24, 2011 10:17:54 AM

Thanks for your quick reply.

1. What do you mean by HT?