Memtest 86 + errors found how to analyze?

Oscarmk

Honorable
Apr 20, 2012
Hello,

I just ran Memtest 86 + from a usb for 1 hour and I found 128 errors, some on test #1, #3, #5 and #8. However I noticed all of them are almost on the same failing address it reads:

002d06axxxx - 11526.6 MB

The only thing that varied was the xxxx the other numbers were always the same, and often even the last 4 numbers repeated themselves. I have 16 GB of Corsair Vengeance of Memory installed, and I ran having all 16 GB.

I am no expert but it looks to me that if I have 16 gb, and it is always failing on 11526.6, does this mean that for sure the faulty RAM is in Slot # 3?. Also I don't think it is the CPU since if it was the CPU it wouldn't always be almost the same address, is that a correct assumption?.

I also read that I should run memtest 86 + with only one stick of RAM at a time. But my main concern is there a way to know for sure that the root cause of the problem is the RAM and not the Motherboard?. I am asking mainly because I have not experienced any BSOD of any kind, or instabilities, reboots, program crashes etc.

The only problem I had is while playing Starcraft 2, I got a corrupted files error twice after closing the game, and also once I saw bad graphics on a map. I was also getting low fps for my System on SC 2. Once my computer also restarted by itself, before even booting. So I guess the cause of those was the RAM?.

My real concern is how to know if the problem is really RAM, or the CPU or the Motherboard. I can run Prime 95 just fine although I only ran it for 1:30 hours, my Ram is supported by my motherboard and I have not OC'ed or modified timings, furthermore in BIOS the Voltage and timings are correct.

What other tests should I run?.

My system is:

Saphire HD 7850 OC (at default OC)
i5 2500k (turbo enabled, i.e. 3.7 ghz while gaming)
16 GB Corsair Vegeance @ 1333 (but can activate XPS for 1600 but would this really help at all?)