Updated BIOS, it broke Speedstep? Asus P8Z77-v pro 3770k

jdx3ds

Distinguished
Jan 15, 2012
So when I got the board I believe it had version 0801.
Normally all four cores of the i7 3770k idle around 1600mhz and ramp up to 3700-3900 when needed.

I just upgraded to 0906 but now all four cores stay ramped up 100% of the time. Speedstep is still enabled in the bios.

Specifically I upgraded via AI Suite II (and also updated start up image at the same time).

Anything I can do to fix this?

Side question, I have a Cooler Master N520 CPU cooler with two 3 pin wires that go into a y adapter. I took that 3 pin adapter and moved it from the CPU fan header to a chassis fan header on the motherboard so I could control the speed with Fan Xpert 2. Is this safe/ok?

aicom

Honorable
Mar 29, 2012
I'd definitely leave the CPU fan in the CPU fan header. Often, the BIOS will malfunction if it thinks the CPU fan is missing. The BIOS will modulate the CPU fan speed based on CPU temperature. Trying to manually control it is a recipe for disaster, especially if something gets misconfigured.

teiji

Honorable
Mar 27, 2012
I also have the exact same problem like OP. But it didn't happen immediately after an update to the BIOS. When I first build the PC, it was fine the first week. But now, after I tried overclocking for the past two days (which failed, so I default back to stock settings), it's been staying at 3700-3900 at idle.

I'm also looking for a fix, too.

vinay2008

Distinguished
Jun 30, 2008