Sign in with
Your question
Solved

New system around i7 2600k

Last response: in Systems
May 24, 2011 11:59:13 PM

Hi guys,
I'we been with tomshardware for a long time but now I need help in building a system. So many components out there that it's very hard to choose from. I spent 2 nights already but still not sure what to choose.

I decided that I go with i7 2600k CPU since I believe it's the best deal price/performance and to build the system around it.
I am always trying to find the gap where the price goes too much up compared to performance. Maximum price for the components below in american $ should be around 1500$.
I need this system for 3D Studio Max but I am not a professional so I don't want to invest too much.

CPU: i7 2600k
Motherboard: ASUS P8P67 PRO REV 3.0
Memory: Corsair Vengeance-2x4 GB-DIMM 240-pin-DDR3-1600 MHz / PC3-12800-CL8-1.5V
Graphic card: ...
Case: ...
HDD: I have the drives from my old system

Thanx alot

More about : system 2600k

May 25, 2011 12:20:49 AM

The i5 2500k is pretty close in performance for $100 less, unless you're doing alot of video encoding etc
m
l
May 25, 2011 12:35:32 AM

Thanx cmadrid.

The biggest problem is the video card. I have no ideea which one to choose.
Also heard about CUDA technology which makes a difference in 3D design but could not find info if a card does / doesn't support it.
m
l
Related resources
May 25, 2011 1:40:39 AM

CUDA is Nividia.. If you're going to go with an nvidia card I would suggest a 560ti gtx card. They are very good, and are pretty amazing in SLI if you need more performance down the road.

If you are planning on doing GPU computing like bitcoin mining or folding@home you should get an AMD 6950 2gb
m
l
May 25, 2011 6:15:48 AM

Amen

Thanx for your help
I decided on the next config:

CPU: i7 2600k
Motherboard: ASUS P8P67 PRO REV 3.0
Memory: Corsair Vengeance-2x4 GB 1600 MHz / PC3-12800-CL8-1.5V
Video card: GIGABYTE NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX560 SO-950 SUPER OVERCLOCK
m
l
May 25, 2011 6:22:24 AM