MSI Z77A-GD65 (soundquality + overclocking)

no_way_today

Honorable
May 7, 2012
Hello,

At the moment I am planning to build a new computer, but I dont know what to do if it comes to choose( :eek: ) the right motherboard.

My old computer has (also) been used for playing high quality (stereo) music (.flac). I bought for that one a M-Audio Audiophile 2496 soundcard (the standard realtek was ok but not good enough) which gave and gives perfect stereosound (which I prefer). This card was connected to my amplipfier with coax.

My new computer will also been used for gaming. I'd like to overclock a bit (I am new with it) and the MSI Z77A-GD65 comes with an oc-genieII: press a button on the motherboard and the system will have a extra performance of 11% (in different tests they say it works great!). No hard work for overclocking!

The coax connection on the MSI Z77A-GD65 is the only board offering it. Other brands do only come with optical digital sound. But thats the problem: my amplifier does have coax digital and doenst have optica connectionsl. So I am stuck to coax connections (buying a new amplifier is not the solution!)

The other problem is: if the sound quality is a bit disappointing i can't put in my old soundcard: its PCI, the MSI board offers only pci-e.....

My question is:

- Does anyone know if the soundquality of the MSI Z77A-GD65 is really good (yes I am an audiphile), comes close to the M-audiocard?

- Is it better to buy a different motherboard with a PCI slot so I can use my m-audiocard? In that case overclocking is getting harder, cause MSI is only offering a automatic overclock..... Or do you know which board is easy or has an automatic OC function.

Well I hope someone can help me out!

robustus64

Distinguished
Sep 15, 2011