mcrmama

Distinguished
May 24, 2011
Hi, I am new to this. We have 3 kids and all of us were sharing one computer. I do a lot of digital scrapbooking with photoshop cs5 so it was decided I would get a new computer. I have a Dell XPS 8300 (since April). I have done some work with our old Dimension 8400 that we have been sharing so it has upgraded ram, power supply etc. It is working quite well so I'm thinking of passing this one to the kids since they do not need a lot for what they do and build a new computer for my husband. I have not done this before so am a bit nervous but I have upgraded ram, replaced power supply, installed dvd drive etc. so am now starting to feel more comfortable with putting parts in. I'm thinking I might be able to do this. We also have a new computer guy starting soon at our office and I'm thinking if I get stuck, he might be able to give me a hand. I enjoy learning how to do things and really liking playing with my computer now that I understand better how to things.

My husband uses the computer mostly for WoW. I can't see him overclocking unless I do it for him. That is not something I have done before either. Here is what I was thinking for him:

Approximate Purchase Date: (e.g.: this week (the closer the better)) - when I figure out what I want, lol. soon.

Budget Range: (e.g.: 600-800) Before / After Rebates - $1,000 prior to SSD drive

System Usage from Most to Least Important: (e.g.: Folding@Home, gaming, surfing the internet, watching movies) - WoW, some internet surfing

Parts Not Required: (e.g.: keyboard, mouse, monitor, speakers, OS) **Include Power Supply Make & Model If Re-using**
- keyboard needed, no monitor, no speakers

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: (e.g.: newegg.com, ncix.com -- to show us selection & pricing) - doesn't matter, so far I have been using newegg.ca

Country of Origin: (e.g.: Grand Fenwick) - Canada