Sign in with
Your question

1st HTPC Build

Last response: in Systems
May 25, 2011 2:33:10 AM

I am a novice rig builder at best and am looking to complete a project i started a few years back. I'm building a HTPC using a Zalman case with a 7"touch screen and what now looks to be the original Asus Crosshair MB, (I think they're up to version 5 now). Ran out of funds at the time and has been collecting dust ever since. My thinking is,"OK, it's old but solid, why not max it out?" Everything is cheaper 'cause its not the latest greatest anymore, and its not like I'm trying to run NASA!
My intent is to build solid rig that will act as my DVR, receiver/hub, outperform my Xbox 360, and allow me to surf the web while watching TV. All that from my couch using a 60" Sony Bravia LED/LCD HDTV as my monitor. So far, I have Sony DVDr, the second from the biggest AMD the MB will support (Phenom X4 9850 Quad core $70), and Ultra ChillTec Black Overclocking CPU Cooler ($30 bucks, awesome!).
Plans are for 8 GBs of Kingston Hyper-X DDR2 800 dual channel (4-4-4-12), 1 HDD for OS, and 2 for main storage. Still learning on RAID 0 tech so bare with me. MB is SLI ready so dual video cards are a must but thats a whole 'nother conversation. My questions are mostly HDD related now. I'm thinking 2 WD Caviar Black 750's in RAID 0 and a WD CB 500 for the OS. Seems like a waste of storage but my thinking is that the 32 MB cache of the Caviar Blacks is about the best all-around solution/compromise for the money to increase OS responsiveness, start up, etc. I'll decide on the power supply last.
Any suggestions appreciated. Just getting back into this type of thing. Thanks.

More about : 1st htpc build

a b B Homebuilt system
May 25, 2011 3:54:15 AM