"Mid-Range" - Graphics Card Choices

lazzius

Distinguished
Mar 15, 2011
Hey everyone !

I'll start by saying I'm totally new to the Tom's Hardware Forums, so go ahead and call me the "new guy" :p

First off, I'm willing to build myself a nice little (Hmm, let's call it a "mid-range") build. My price range for that build would be from 1000-1200 $.

Now, a big big question I asked myself was which card I would like to have in the system. Here's some general information about what I plan to do with the build (and the card) :

- Gaming (Main reason of the build) : I'll mostly play Rift, and would LOVE to have nice FPS when in towns, raids, etc. I'm aware that the GPU is not the -only- thing which affects this, but still :). Also, I want to be able to run newer games (Dragon Age 2, Elder Scrolls : Skyrim, etc.) quite nicely.

- Resolution : Mainly 1440 X 900 . Only have a 19 inch Widescreen Samsung Monitor, so that resolution will be enough. Although my 42" HDTV is close to my computer, I'll probably try to hook it up via HDMI to see if I can get interesting results (resolution is usually 1980 X 1020, is that correct ?).

- Power Supply : A 750w or 850w , depending on which one I'll choose to get.

- CrossFire or SLI : That's a tough one. I probably will consider one or the other, since I want to be able to "upgrade" the computer later on. I'm not sure if I should consider CF or SLI for now because of my budget, but the option of buying a second card later is very appealing for sure.

Deals : Here are some quite interesting deals, that surely you guys can help me out with. As a note, I'm willing to pay around 180-250$ for the GPU (maybe a bit more if it's a great deal, or worth the shot)

PNY GeForce GTX 560 Ti XLR8 Black Box 822MHZ 1GB GDDR5 Dual DVI Mini-HDMI DX11 PCI-E Video Card

http://ncix.com/promo/promosale.php?webid=customerappreciationmarch2011

I absolutely have no clue if PNY is a reliable company, but it's still a good deal IMO.