Long time Windows gone Apple back to Window platform Rig Plan

Tags:
  • New Build
  • Computer
  • Systems
  • Product
Last response: in Systems
May 26, 2011 10:28:03 PM

Hey all! New member here. I've recently got the itch to build my own computer again after a very, very long time. Because of my computer art and Graphic Design background I've been, for a long time, working on OS X platforms. I currently have a lower end 15" mac pro through work and a Quad Core Mac Pro at home that I have been using as my personal computer. I love Apple computers and never really saw a reason to purchase or build a Windows computer other than running Windows 7 on a separate hard drive via bootcamp (buggy but it works) to run a 3d cad program that is Windows only.

I do enjoy gaming and have been, sorry to say, an avid WoW player. Recently I started playing Rift on my Bootcamp partition. My current Mac Pro setup is Quad Xeon with 10GB Ram and an EVDO GTX 285 mac edition. Rift plays very well via bootcamp but I am plagued with buggy random restarts, blue screen memory dumps, and others. Hence why I started researching parts to build a moderate to totally awesome rig.

Take a look at my possible setup I put together. I would greatly appreciate if anyone can help me tweak it for more performance. When I calculate the cost only using prices from tigerdirect.com (I'm sure I can find better prices once I give it a hard look) it came out to roughly $1300.00 after taxes. (laughable that its $1500+ less than a comparable Mac pro with less gaming performance) :o 

Please keep comments to discussion about tweaking the current set up. See below...

Case: Cooler Master Storm Enforcer ATX Mid Tower -- LINK
Power Supply: Cooler Master Silent Pro Gold 1000W -- LINK
CPU: AMD Phenom II X6 1100T Black Edition -- LINK
MoBo: Gigabyte GA-870A-USB3 -- LINK
Ram: 2X Crucial 8GB PC10600 DDR3 1333MHz Dual Channel Kits (16GB total) -- LINK