Computer shutting down after power outage

Status
Not open for further replies.

runf

Distinguished
Aug 22, 2011
Hello,
I have a i7-950 and an Asus Sabertooth that's been running great for a year.
The power went off and on about 3 times in row during a thunderstorm today. Since then, my computer has shut off about 3 times. This is a total, very quick shut down. I've had some experience with a computer over heating in the past so I checked it out with PC probe. While playing Fear 3 it said the CPU was at 90c and PC probe thought that was high (according to it's presets which I really don't know much about) and was warning me. At idle it is about 50c. I don't know for sure if that's my problem but it sure is suspicious. I guess my question is, what is the most likely to have gotten fried to cause this problem? Thanks.

Solution
Yup, that's the problem. Those CPU's are known to run hot, but 90'C is more or less considered "dangerous". The shutdown is a direct result of the motherboard trying to prevent frying of the CPU. I would recommend re-doing the build, making sure nothing is obviously damaged and that the CPU and cooler is properly seated. If it is overclocked, remove the overclocking immediately. It can also be the PSU/motherboard being damaged from the lighting storms causing this, so it's worth taking out the motherboard and checking all components (specifically capacitors) for bulging, leaking or discoloring. All this may easily indicate a now broken motherboard.

Toxxyc

Distinguished
Jan 6, 2011