Sign in with
Your question

Seeking career advice.. Is it never too late..

Last response: in Work & Education
April 12, 2011 2:56:04 PM

Hi,

Lately I have been extremely dissatisfied with my job as a dentist for the last ten years and thinking about making a career change. Problem is I have almost no idea how to accomplish career happiness in possibly technology and computers where it has been my life long hobby. The other thing is I dont have any degrees in computer science but am self taught. For example I have dabbled in system building, and programming in everything from web design to objective C. If there was anyway to get into a biotech carreer path I would but not sure how. If anyone could offer advice I would greatly appreciate it,

Thank you.
April 12, 2011 6:42:40 PM

Well you are in a very good position doing something related to Dental Tech. Lookup some of the companies that make all your equipment, see if they are hiring.

what are some technological shortfalls related to dentistry you think could be changed? Diving into a hobby field sounds like fun but remember you are up against the new motivated work force.
April 15, 2011 11:31:02 PM

Without a degree in Computer Science you'd do well start a programming career. Sure you might find somewhere that will take you on but you'll find moving on from that job to something similar will be difficult.

As wanamingo said, your best chances probably involve using your dentistry knowledge. Maybe think about what you enjoy about dentistry and try and mix it with your other technical interests.

Best of luck!

Related resources
Can't find your answer ? Ask !
April 20, 2011 8:26:05 PM

I agree with Wanamingo. Use your contacts! They are valuable.
As far as a lack of degrees. Many respectful companies will consider your knowledge to be equal weight. But you could always start by getting your certifications. Thats a good way to benchmark your knowledge.