Solved

Need Advice on a $1200- $1500 First Build

Tags:
  • New Build
  • Systems
  • Product
Last response: in Systems
May 28, 2011 12:35:55 AM

Hi, I'm new to building a computer, but I'm really interested in doing so. I've done some research and put together this list of parts.

I'd like any advice you can give. If you feel a part is better replaced with something else please tell me. Also, I believe everything here will fit and be compatible, but any reassurance would be appreciated.

---------------

Approximate Purchase Date: As soon as all the parts become available

Budget Range: $1200- $1500

System Usage:

Gaming (Witcher 2, Left 4 Dead, Skyrim)
Everything else (Internet, movies etc.)

Parts Not Required: Monitor, keyboard, speakers, and mouse

Preferred Websites for Parts: Newegg.ca, Newegg.com*, NCIX
* Live in Canada near border with friends on the other side

Country of Origin: Canada

Parts Preferences: Not yet experienced with different brands. I'll consider all suggestions.

Overclocking: Probably in the future after a lot more research

SLI or Crossfire: Probably not in the near future

Monitor Resolution: 1920 x 1080

Additional Comments: A cool-running, quiet computer would be nice, but isn't a total necessity.

---------------

This is what I've chosen after looking around the forums and customer reviews around various sites:

CPU: Intel Core i5-2500K Sandy Bridge 3.3GHz (3.7GHz Turbo Boost) 4 x 256KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache LGA 1155 95W Quad-Core Desktop Processor BX80623I52500K

MOBO: ASRock Z68 Extreme4 LGA 1155 Intel Z68 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

RAM: G.SKILL Sniper Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1866 (PC3 14900) Desktop Memory Model F3-14900CL9D-8GBSR

GPU: MSI N570GTX Twin Frozr III PE/OC GeForce GTX 570 (Fermi) 1280MB 320-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card

PSU: CORSAIR HX Series CMPSU-850HX 850W ATX12V 2.3 / EPS12V 2.91 80 PLUS SILVER Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply