Upgrading from 4870X2

mortonww

Distinguished
May 27, 2009
So yesterday, I started having trouble with my Sapphire Radeon 4870X2. I was playing the Shadow Broker mission on Mass Effect 2 when both screens went black (extended desktop and full-screen game display) and the fan kicked up to leaf-blower level. I could still hear sound for half a minute, then nothing. The computer didn't turn off, but I couldn't get a display. I ran the UniEngine Heaven benchmark to make sure it wasn't the game and the same thing happened. I started playing Mass Effect 2 again, this time with the fan at 60% manual speed. The temperatures kept creeping up. Started at mid 50s, then headed to mid 60s, then close to 70 and then a bit over 70 and the displays went. Next time I played and alt+tabbed when the temperature started to get close to 70 and raised the fan speed. Eventually, the fan speed was up to 93% and yet the temperature still got to 68 C.

I know this card usually runs hot, but in the two years I've had it, I've never had to raise the fan speed above around 37% or so.

So, if this card is dying, I'm thinking about getting a gtx 570 for now. I know it's only really a marginal upgrade, but when I move to LGA 2011 later this year, I'll just add another for SLI. Is this a solid plan?

Current system:
i7 920 @ 3.2 GHz
HD 4870X2 @ 778, 950
Corsair HX 1000

Solution
Two way sli is more or less rock solid until you begin to tri and quad sli. They do require a fair share of cpu power to push them but for you that shouldn't be an issue. Better than a self exploding gtx 590 or another 4870x2 hot plate.

daygall

Distinguished
Oct 17, 2009