Puzzling Unable to POST on new supermicro 6128 build

flk_51

Distinguished
May 30, 2011
Hi All,
I am unable to get my new build to POST. This is my first build. I went through ALL of the steps detailed in the VERY NICE "System won't boot" and "no video output" checklist. (Thanks to all who contributed time and effort to make this checklist!) They all passed. I am really stumped. See below for the details.

Problem Summary:

I am unable to get the machine to POST. BUT, for unknown reasons it did POST twice. When?

The very first time I turned the machine on (with only the motherboard and RAM installed, the cooler, the power connectors and fans) it beeped! Emboldened I shut it down, and I installed the rest of the components and was subsequently unable to get it to POST.

The second time it POSTED was long after I put it on a breadboard (with only the motherboard and RAM installed, the cooler, the power connectors and fans). So, I put it on the breadboard, and tried and failed many times to get it to POST. So, what did I do to get it to POST? I am unsure. I know I removed the CMOS Battery for about 20 minutes, and reset the CMOS. When I started it, the machine posted and the on-board motherboard-power indicator did light up. The video display showed the machine booting up and I tried to get to the start up menu - by hitting the <del> key, but after it got to the menu that the keyboard seemed no longer operational. I say I am unsure what I did to get it to POST because when I turned it on again, the machine was unable to POST, and displayed the General Symptoms (described next). And pullng the CMOS battery and resetting the CMOS had no effect on this outcome.

General Symptoms: