Sign in with
Your question

I7 2600k system.

Last response: in Systems
May 31, 2011 10:21:59 AM

Hey there,

I'm new to the whole PC building scene - this is my first build. Very excited about building this pc. I'm after a very fast PC for general application running, gaming, and autocad programs. I've made a preliminary design, but I know it's not perfect and I haven't included extra fans or a CPU cooler. If I'm going to overclock this processor - what kind of extras will I need? I don't particularly want to spend a lot of money on water cooling.

I'm not going to use the case shown in the screenshot - I'll probably use the Fractal R3 or the Corsair 600t. But I need your help on how to improve it (don't want to spend a lot more than I am already).

Thanks a lot - http://yfrog.com/h4dqihyp

Luminouslime.

More about : 2600k system

May 31, 2011 10:29:36 AM

^ Will you be adding 1 more graphic card in Crossfire later on ?? If Yes, then you would have to change the mobo as it has only 1 PCIe x16 slot,... If No, then you wont need an 800W PSU to power a single card, a good 600W should do,...

You could actually get the i5 2500K if it is going to be mainly a gaming PC as the 2500K offers performance similar to 2600K in terms of gaming,... Only in CAD and other productivity tasks, the 2600K offers advantage,...
May 31, 2011 10:33:17 AM

Yeah well I will be doing some CAD on it. I don't think I'll be running two graphics cards, but can you recommend a good mobo with 2 PCIe slots at a decent price? Also, is the graphics card an okay size for the Fractal R3? With Overclocking too, how much extra cooling will I need if I overclock to around 4.0Ghz?
Related resources
May 31, 2011 10:57:17 AM

^
PSU - Get the 650W Corsair, for a single card config, it will suffice,...
http://www.ebuyer.com/product/257232

Case & GPU - The max length of the graphic card is 280mm - 11", supported by the R3, and the 6950 is about 10.5" so it would fit,...