EMI Interference

Tags:
  • Homebuilt
  • Graphics Cards
  • Systems
Last response: in Systems
June 1, 2011 12:12:23 PM

Hi Everyone,

I posted a problem here before with a problem i had and got the solution! so thanks again to those who helped with that!

I have another problem. EMI. Has anyone experienced electromagnetinc interference problems with graphics cards? I have an EMI problem and i suspect my graphics card to be the cause.

I am a guitarist and i have two separate sound setups on my computer. one for regular audio and one for recording. The regular audio setup involves a speaker set with four speakers and a subwoofer and is connected to the motherboards sound output. I have absolutely no problems here, its all fine and sound is very good.

Where i am experienceing the problems are...
1) In my guitar amp. When i play guitar with high enough gain and distortion i noticed it picking up what sounded like digital noise.
2) Separate from my everyday audio setup i have a recording setup. This includes an Edirol FA-66 firewire audio interface. 2x Mackie MR5 active studio monitors.

Here is why i suspect it is caused by the graphics card. There is a constant EMI digital sounding noise present but anytime an image or graphic changes on the screen it changes the sound and makes it louder while the image or screen is changing.

I have disconnected the HDMI monitor cable, no change.
I have unpugged the monitor and removed the DHMI cable, no change.