Sign in with
Your question

Ground Loop Fried My Motherboard?

Last response: in Motherboards
May 16, 2012 3:50:57 AM

Hi Everyone,

I would appreciate some thoughts on an issue I have been having. First a system breakdown:

Gigabyte Z68A-D3H-B3 rev 1.0
Intel 2500k
Patriot G2 Series 1600MHZ 4GBx2
OCZ Agility3 SSD
HIS IceQ 6870HD
Crosair Enthusiast series 650M PSU
Antec-300
Hyper-212 Plus Cooler

I'm no expert when it comes to enthusiast computing, but I have an EE degree so I think I'm somewhat competent with the subject.

The system was custom built from a local PC store (Memory Express). On the weekend I was starting to get BSOD's due to memory pagefault errors. After running memtest86+ I determined that there was a faulty memory stick. So I pulled it out and got my store to replace the memory sticks (bought an in store warranty).

So after I put in my new memory, I ran memtest86 and everything was OK. Then I logged into windows and tried to run a couple of Intel burn test runs. It will fail with no over clock, stock bios fail safe settings. Fail is certain on high stress, and random on standard test. I also get random program crashes. But no BSODs as of yet.

So I went into the BIOS to look at some settings. I noticed my Bclk has a lot of jitter. It will fluctuate by about 0.05Mhz. Is this normal? I also get strange errors in the BIOS, such as trying to set the 4th core to a manual turbo setting will reduce all of the cores back to auto. Flashing my bios (To rev13, and back to rev11) did not fix these issues.

I also noticed that when I changed my memory profile to XMP it would only change the DRAM voltage to the setting value (profile voltage 1.65V, default 1.5V), and leaves the controller Voltage (Vqt I think?) at the default of 1.04V, not 1.25V as specified in the XMP profile.