Sign in with
Your question

New htpc build

Last response: in Systems
June 2, 2011 4:56:21 AM

I am building a new htpc and I am using this biostar motherboard

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

and I was wondering about this cpu which I like because its tdp is 45W

The htpc will be used for online streaming services like netflix and hulu, movies stored on an external hard drive, and blu ray discs. It will be windows 7 and I was just wondering how this build will work out. Will the cpu perform ok as a single core or do I need a dual core? I won't be doing anything to intensive such as encoding, which I use another comp for, so I don't need too much power, but I've never built an htpc before so I'm not sure. So far I am thinking that if the 2nd core unlocks that will be fine but if not then oh well, but I'm a little worried about the single core and blu ray playback. Also this build will be left on, in sleep mode, most of the day and then turned off at night so I don't want too powerful of a cpu since that will just cause more heat. Any help or suggestions would be great.

More about : htpc build

June 2, 2011 5:12:54 AM

Yeah.... You probably want to swap up the components.
That biostar Mobo is OK, but some people have had bad luck with biostar.
Get an Athlon II x2 instead, they are only like $15 more and that sempron just isn't gonna cut it.

I would also link the rest of the stuff you are looking at, we might be able to give some tips on stuff like ram and other components.
m
l
June 2, 2011 5:28:14 AM