Choosing a graphics card

Rustee2011

Distinguished
Mar 22, 2011
Hey fellow gamers, Sup? I got an Nvidia Geforce 9800GT Akimbo. I've had it almost three years. It runs pretty good. I have it in a Cooler Master Storm Scout with 750 watt PS 4GB of ram (winXP - best for gaming to me), my card idles at like 50-53 degrees normally, but has gotten down to 46 on a cold day. The highest it has gone is 83 (LFD2) playing for 1 hour. I want to upgrade. Torn between the Geforce 550 Ti AMP and the Geforce 460 OC. Mid-range card is fine for me. I also go MB with 2 pcie 16X slots that read 8X apiece. Will a MB with one pcie 16X slot read 16X? This is my first build. My main concern is gaming. Please advise. Oh, processor is am AMD 64 dual core 3.11 GHz 6000+, works just fine. Had the processor about three years. Main concern is video card upgrade.

Solution
I am referring to the memory clock. it IS running at 900Mhz, but that's double pumped (two clocks per cycle) giving an actual clock rate of 1800mhz.

As for the CPU, a bottleneck occurs when onr part of the system is too weak to maintain the other parts, causing lost performance. basically, that CPU will not be able to keep up with the GPU, so you will not see the performance you should.

First thing, what motherboard do you have? (CPUz can tell you if you are not sure)

It may be that your current Mobo will accept an AM3 chip with a BIOS update. in which case you can get something like a phenom II 955, and be golden.

If not, i would forgo the GPU upgrade for now, and spend the money upgrading the motherboard and CPU. then get a GPU...

mazinger4

Distinguished
Mar 21, 2011