Sign-in / Sign-up
Your question
Solved

Can you replace a CPU with an older one (same socket type LGA775)

Tags:
  • CPUs
Last response: in CPUs
August 29, 2011 11:52:08 PM

Hi Guys,

System Specs:

Motherboard - ASUS P5VD2-VM SE
CPU - Intel E2180 Dual Core 2.00 GHz
HDD - Western Digital WD Caviar SE 160Gb
RAM - Kingston KVR667D2N5 1G and Samsung DLL 667 1G (sorry if this makes no sense, I dont know where to find the model no. or something...)
GPU - Palit GEFORCE 8500GT Sonic PCI-E 256MB 128bit DDR3
PSU - Powerlogic ATX 500W
CD Drive - Lite-On ITCorp. Model: iHAS220-08 6 (sorry if this is wrong too...)

Sorry if this thread is in the wrong category. It's my first time posting anything on the web. But enough about, that this is my problem....

The other day when I got home from a trip, I went to turn on my PC but was greeted with nothing but a black screen.
Everything is getting power; Chassis fan, CPU fan, GPU fan. At first I thought it was the MoBo shorting in the case, so I removed everything and put it all on a non-conductive surface. Connected everything and double checked everything was securly fastend, powered up and it worked!!! I then proceeded to put everything back into the case and everything still worked fine, for a couple of hours at least.

Then I shut it down for the night, and when I woke up NOTHING but black screen again....
So I then did the same as last time and placed everything on a non-conductive surface, but still nothing....
Unfortunatly the motherboard I have dosen't come with a speaker on it. So rounding out the problem was very difficult. But to solve this I salvaged a speaker from an old motherboard I had. The speaker kept giving me the same beep code, One long, Two short I.E graphics card problem. So I reseated the graphics card around 15 time just to make sure. And sure enough no more beep codes, but I found this strange as there was no beep on boot......