febreeze

Distinguished
Jun 4, 2011
i just booted my computer for the first time and i got 1 long beep and 2 short ones. i googled this and theres different solution for each BIOS. how do i know which mine is? im new to this

ohiou_grad_06

Distinguished
Quick research on google turned this up.

http://forums.techguy.org/hardware/589703-one-long-beep-two-short.html

Do this, reseat ram first. Restart, if no go, reseat video card. If no go, try one stick of ram at a time. Also, if you have integrated video on the board, pull out the discrete card I'm assuming you've got, see if it will boot to the integrated video. It could be that the onboard video needs to be disabled in the bios. Let us know!

ohiou_grad_06

Distinguished
Small silver battery on your mainboard, it's about the size of a nickel. If there's not one of those on there, there should be a reset button or something to that effect on the board. Also, stupid question, but you did install the brass standoffs right?

febreeze

Distinguished
Jun 4, 2011
yes i did i carefully installed every part since it was my first build it took me two days :)
my mobo manual says to short 2-3 pins not taking out a battery should i do that?
could it be my ram's defective?

ohiou_grad_06

Distinguished
Possibly. On shorting the pins, either way will work. Something else to check. Look in the motherboard manual, make sure that the jumper you are supposed to use was not set to clear. Sometimes I've seen boards come with the pin on the clear jumpers at first and it had to be changed before the build would run. Also, check the sticky's at the top of this section, they may be able to give you some tips I might be missing.

febreeze

Distinguished
Jun 4, 2011
it was set to keep
ok i did all the ram stuff again, reseated video card and did the jumper thing, no dice.... so all i can think is the ram is is broke because the video card is working

ohiou_grad_06

Distinguished