Tags:
  • New Build
  • Computer
  • Boot
  • Systems
  • Product
Last response: in Systems
June 5, 2011 4:50:13 AM

i just booted my computer for the first time and i got 1 long beep and 2 short ones. i googled this and theres different solution for each BIOS. how do i know which mine is? im new to this

More about : problem 1st boot

June 5, 2011 5:52:26 AM

Quick research on google turned this up.

http://forums.techguy.org/hardware/589703-one-long-beep...

Do this, reseat ram first. Restart, if no go, reseat video card. If no go, try one stick of ram at a time. Also, if you have integrated video on the board, pull out the discrete card I'm assuming you've got, see if it will boot to the integrated video. It could be that the onboard video needs to be disabled in the bios. Let us know!
m
l
Related resources
June 6, 2011 4:44:24 AM

Have you tried only a single stick? Also, have you reset the cmos? If not, pull the cmos battery for about 5 minutes, replace, and try again. Usually beeping like that is good, I find the two things are usually ram or video card.
m
l
June 6, 2011 5:30:09 PM

whats a cmos battery?
m
l
June 6, 2011 7:12:39 PM

Small silver battery on your mainboard, it's about the size of a nickel. If there's not one of those on there, there should be a reset button or something to that effect on the board. Also, stupid question, but you did install the brass standoffs right?
m
l
June 7, 2011 10:29:58 PM

yes i did i carefully installed every part since it was my first build it took me two days :) 
my mobo manual says to short 2-3 pins not taking out a battery should i do that?
could it be my ram's defective?
m
l
June 8, 2011 1:31:43 AM