Sign in with
Your question

{ Solved }New motherboard no post

Last response: in Motherboards
May 19, 2012 12:18:22 PM

Hello !

I just ordered a new 848P-Neo2-V motherboard. When i hooked up the power supply it ran for about 2 minutes then shut off. Now with the same power supply it will only turn the heatsink fan and its own fan for about 1 sec then shuts off. I have to wait about 8-10 minutes before i can try again and the same thing happens.

I have never worked with a p4 system before. All my builds have been amd products.

There is no ram or anything installed just the heatsink and power supply whenn this happens.

Now i did last night try this power supply on my amd sempron system and it did the same thing. This is a brand new power supply only about 12 hours old.
It did not destroy the amd sempron system because i hooked up the orginal power supply and it is working fine.

So if this is a bad power supply maybe it did not destroy the new motherboard ? Or maybe the new motherboard destroyed the new power supply ?

Anyone have any ideas ?

thanks for your time

Jmor
a c 435 V Motherboard
a b ) Power supply
May 19, 2012 12:25:13 PM

I've never had a board post without at least one stick of ram installed. Wait until you get your ram before you try again.
m
l
a b V Motherboard
a b ) Power supply
May 19, 2012 12:26:26 PM

If you tried the new PSU in the old computer and it doesn't work then maybe the PSU is bad.

What maker and model is this new PSU?

Also, what is the maker/model of the processor you are using?
m
l
Related resources
May 19, 2012 12:35:41 PM

cpu is a Pentium 4 540 3.2GHz CPU

power supply is a Eagle ET-PSVT500

I also looked but i do not have any power supplies with the bigger board power connectors. All my semprons use smaller board connectors.
m
l
a b V Motherboard
a b ) Power supply
May 19, 2012 2:14:17 PM

The Eagle PSU has a 20+4 power connector and a 4 pin CPU power cable, correct?