Help Build a Gaming/Multimedia rig [~1250$]

userzim1

Distinguished
Jun 4, 2011
I'm looking to spend around 1250$.
[I already own the HAF X 942 Full ATX Case]

This'll be used for graphic-dependent gaming and media.

I'm looking to build with an AMD processor, unless you can convince me otherwise. :)

I could SLI/Crossfire, I've never done it before.

I've built my own system before (around a Phenom X4 and a GTS 250) but it lacks some of the power (and cooling) that I really want to have.

Cold and powerful, are what I'm looking for.

If you guys could help me out that'd be great.

----

Approximate Purchase Date: 2 weeks

Budget Range: (e.g.: 1$ - 1250$) before/after rebates (doesn't matter)

System Usage from Most to Least Important: gaming, multimedia, surfing the internet, etc.

Parts Not Required: peripherals: mouse, speakers, keyboard, monitors

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: newegg.com

Country of Origin: USA

Parts Preferences: AMD, I have my heart set on the HAF X 942

Overclocking: Maybe

SLI or Crossfire: Maybe

Monitor Resolution: (1920x1080)

edit: I will probably be running more than 1 monitor.

I don't know why you'd spend 1250 on a PC and only get an AMD CPU. They're extremely far behind Intel in the desktop market. Even the new i3 dual cores outperform the X6s in some games. IMHO, that's pathetic.

Go with an Intel i5-2500K and a good P67 motherboard (unless you can get a comparable Z68 board for the same price; you won't gain much from it). I have the Gigabyte UD4 and am extremely pleased with it. It has one of the best expansion port layouts I've ever seen (currently have 1 PCI card, 2 dual slot GPUs, and 2 PCI-E x1 cards in it), and is supposedly a good OCer.

Get a solid 8GB RAM kit. Get 1600-1866 MHz; you won't get anything noticeable with faster speeds. I'd recommend G.Skill, Patriot, and Kingston for brands.