First Build! - Gamer/Engineer

Yuccaphile

Distinguished
Jun 6, 2011
This will be my first attempt at building a computer. I am an engineering student and want to build a computer that I can afford to build and later (over the next 1-2 years) upgrade and upgrade again as needed. Ideally, the computer would function well as both a gaming PC (no FPS's) and as a workstation for 3D modeling programs (SolidWorks, AutoCad, ProE).

For now, I'm guessing I'm better off putting extra money in a quality motherboard. Also, I am trying to build an AMD system as it's cheaper. I can't afford much for graphics right now, but in little while I'll be able to upgrade that to something respectable. (I have no idea to what, however. I don't know how well professional cards work for games or how well gaming cards work for design software. If anyone could be of help on this point, it would be much appreciated.)

This is where I'm at (listed in order of importance):

ASUS 890FX Crosshair IV Formula MOBO -------$210
AMD Phenom II x4 955 BE 3.2GHz --------------$112
Thermaltake V4 ATX Case ------------------------$50
Corsair XMS3 4GB 1600 DDR3 Dual Channel-----$48
Ultra Lifetime Series Pro 750 W PSU -------------$87
Seagate Barracuda 500GB SATA III 7200 RPM --$40
HIS Radeon HD 4670 1GB PCI Express 2.0 x16--$60
Light-On LightScribe 24x SATA DVD +/- ---------$25
Total: $632

It took a lot of work for me to get a reasonable setup for under $650. I have an old monitor that will work for now and all the software I need. However, I'm not sure if I'm going in the right direction with this, seeing as I am going to need a computer in a year and a half that can deal with high-end design software. If anyone has any advice, or can suggest a comparable Intel setup, I would love to hear from you.

Thank you!