Sign in with
Your question

Speeding up CPU

Last response: in Memory
May 21, 2012 9:43:15 PM

Hello all,
I'm trying to help speed up my parents desktop so I'm looking for a little help.

To start with, the main problem is the cpu is very slow at starting computer based programs such as control panel, computer, task manager, and other programs and games.

I believe the problem is ram although I'm no expert on the matter. Currently the cpu is sitting at 3gbs, two 1gb sticks and two 512 sticks, I am hoping that by replacing the two 512s with 2gbs will speed things up considerably.
The cpu is a Dell XPS
Model - 0TP406
Processor- Intel Core Quad 2.40GHZ
RAM-3.00B
Graphics card-Radeon HD 4670
32 bit operating system(I've read that upgrading past 3-4gb of ram on a 32 bit is unnecessary)
If any other information is needed/useful let me know.
Edit: forgot to add that its idle memory usage is 50%, I've read that is normal, but my laptop idles at 25%, so I'm unsure.

Thanks for the help.

More about : speeding cpu

a b } Memory
a c 102 à CPUs
May 22, 2012 1:11:09 AM

Welcome to Tom's Hardware Forums!

Look in the start folder and disable (not delete) unnecessary programs.

And yes, increasing RAM will make a big difference. Just make sure that the added RAM modules match the specs of the existing RAM. Do not mix RAM.
m
l
a c 87 } Memory
a c 193 à CPUs
May 22, 2012 1:28:51 AM

also do some house cleaning...ccleaner..malware bytes..defrag. a good anti virus sweep. check to see if the hard drive is full..a drive that almost full wont let windows make a swap file.
m
l
Related resources
a b } Memory
a b à CPUs
May 22, 2012 1:33:44 AM

Did it come from the manufacturer with different size sticks of ram? that's unusual. If you or someone else put a different kind of RAM in the machine that alone could slow it a bit.