Sign in with
Your question

New build freezes randomly, then tries to restart repeatedly

Last response: in Systems
June 7, 2011 9:22:08 PM

First off, please pardon my ignorance. This is my first build and I'm pretty inexperienced when it comes to building computers (in fact, I'm not sure why I went through all this trouble).

My (first) build:
Corsair 800D
Intel i5-2500 (no K)
Stock fan (going to replace with Cooler Master)
ASUS P8Z68 V-PRO
Corsair Vengence DDR3 RAM 2x4GB
PowerColor AMD/ATI Radeon HD 6970
Corsair HX850W PSU
Intel 510 series 120GB SSD
WD Caviar Black 1 TB 6 GB/s HD
ASUS OD
Dell U2711

Software installed after build:
Windows 7 Ultimate
Intel LAN driver (from ASUS mobo DVD)
Realtek audio (from ASUS mobo DVD)
Windows updates
Sophos anti-virus
Adobe Reader
Adobe Flash
Microsoft Office 2010
ATI/AMD Display Driver
iTunes

Description of problem:

Computer will freeze. Nothing will work. I have to power off holding power button for ~ 5 seconds. When I hit the power button again to restart, the fans turn on, the optical drive whirls, the lights turn on on the mobo, but then everything stops. The computer repeats this until flip the power switch on the PSU -- holding the power button does not work. This has happened a few times since I built my computer a couple of days ago.

1st time - I think it first occurred while installing WIndows 7 or it was immediately after. I thought it was the CPU temp, which was high at 77 C. I found that I had not installed the fan properly. After I did, the CPU temp went down between 55-60 C. With each subsequent freeze, I have checked the CPU temp after restarting in UEFI and the CPU temp is stable between 55-60 C.

2nd time - Happened when I had MLB TV open, surfing the internet, and downloading Adobe reader. The computer just stopped when it had installed about 80%. I had forgotten to install the Windows Updates at that point, so I installed those thinking that might get rid of the problem.