Sign in with
Your question

New Sandy-Bridge build.

Last response: in Systems
June 8, 2011 11:54:17 AM

This is my first build in 4 years, I'm making a computer which i want to be fairly powerful. I'm a programmer so i'll be compiling on it, tho it'll also be used for CS5 and gaming. What I'm looking at at the moment is the following:

Motherboard; Gigabyte z68x-ud7-b3
Processor; Intel i7-2600k
RAM; G.Skill 8gb (2x4gb) 2133mhz kit
Graphics card; ATI 6970
PSU; Corsair TX850

From what I've found so far i think my build is looking good (any tips appreciated) tho i want to know what heatsink would be good for the processor? I'll no doubt be overclocking it. The case i have is pretty big, tho if it came down to it i'd prob buy a bigger case if needed to fit a more efficient heatsink. Also I'm not 100% certain about the power supply, i intend to crossfire in a month or 2 when i got some extra cash and not sure if it's enough for 2x6970's. Then the ram, essentially i went with the G.Skill kit because i couldn't find much else that would run 2133mhz dual channel in 4gb sticks and it seemed affordable, again this is because in another month or so i'll have the extra cash to put another 2 sticks into the system. If there is better ram (either size or efficiency) i'd like to hear about it. I believe the motherboard and cpu are more then capable of my needs tho any suggestions would be taken on board.

I'd like to get the best out of my system without splashing out to much more then i already intend where possible.
(Btw this is my first post on this forum so be gentle with the newbie)

More about : sandy bridge build

June 8, 2011 1:58:58 PM

You really don't need 2133 ram to get the most of your system. Even with 1600 ram a speedy ssd drive is still the bottleneck.
June 8, 2011 3:32:55 PM