Looking for a cheap mobo recommendation

Simplexity88

Honorable
May 3, 2012
Hi all!

I'm taking the plunge and putting together my very first build for gaming (not interested in playing every game at max settings - just playable). I'm almost certainly going to go with an i5-3450, possibly a i5-3570k, but I'm a complete amateur and although I'm intrigued by minor overclocking, it's not a necessity so just want to save money when I can.

I'm trying to keep the budget at a minimum (pref. around $600 total), so I'm looking for a reliable, cheap (preferably $60 or under), and preferably one that's easy to install since I'm a complete beginner.

I just need bare-bones features. No SLI/Xfire, likely no overclocking, minimal ports, only 1 PCIe 2.0 or 3.0 slot, SATA 3.0, no RAID. Not sure if I missed anything, but yeah I don't need anything special.

Can anyone make a recommendation or two? Appreciated in advance!

To be honest, they both seem kinda high priced for your budget range. I generally would not suggest anyone spent more than 25% of their budget on any one part and the 3570k is well over 1/3 of the whole budget.

Line item expenses that high isn't going to leave room for the other things that are important.

Even the 3450 on Newegg is still 1/3 of the whole budget.

It isn't easy to get all the other parts including the video card to come in under $400.

If you click on the link in my signature, you will get a good idea of what a $600 build should ideally look like.

The video card should be the biggest line item expense, and that one is at 25% of the budget. The processor is about 20% of the budget. Ram, Motherboard, PSU, and Case about 10% each. Hard Drive about 15%, and CD Drive about $20 in total regardless of the budget.