1st build - opinion

jeffjeff666

Distinguished
Apr 6, 2011
Here is the parts I would like to order for my new computer. It is my first build and would like to know your opinion.

I just want to do basic stuff with this computer (web surfing, watching HD video on Youtube, maybe a little bit of gaming like my old NHL '09)

Here it is:
-Case: Antec Sonata III (includes a EarthWatts 500 Watt power supply)
-Motherboard: ASUS P8H67-M PRO/CSM REV3.0 H67
-CPU: Intel Core i5 2500 3.3ghz
-RAM: Corsair XMS CMX8GX3M2A1333C9 (2 X 4 GB)
-Hard drive: Western Digital WD Caviar Blue 1TB SATA 6GB/S 7200RPM
-Hard drive 2: Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB SATA2 7200RPM 16MB (from the computer I am using right now)
-Optical drive: ASUS DRW-24B1ST 24X SATA DVD Writer

What I am not sure is: compatibility, enough power with a 500W power supply and the RAM (not sure if it is good or not)

Thanks!

Solution
Generally if you want to go with future proofing your machine so that you don't have to upgrade it other than possibly the video card it seems you should spend a couple of bucks extra and get a Z68 based MB allowing overclocking, get the 2500k which is only 20 or so bucks more than the i5 2500 allowing you to overclock if it is needed and the 4 cores should be enough horsepower for the next couple of years even if your use changes to a more demanding direction.

While you may be able to scrape by with the built in graphics i would still highly recommend a cheap discrete card like the 5670.

If you get the 8GB now I am pretty confident you don't have to add any more any time soon.
Just make sure you run an OS that can support the extra...
Looks good to me.

The parts are reasonable, and compatible.

Antec psu's are good, and will power a decent graphics card if you should ever want to upgrade graphics for fast action gaming.
As it is, the sandy bridge integrated graphics are fine for HD video and many games.