Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Pentium 4 3.2 ghz HT Build

Last response: in Systems
June 10, 2011 11:29:26 PM

Hi, I have an old dell dimension 8400 with a pentium 4 Ht technology at 3.2 ghz, ati 5550 hd graphics card, additional pci graphics card for 3rd monitor and 4 gigabytes of memory and a 7200 rpm hard drive and 2 ide dvd drives.. running wn xp.

System only shows 2.75 gb ram. Used to show 3.75 gb before installing the additional graphics card.

I am a commodity trader and I have 3 screens attached with 40 charts running at once and about 5 browsers and a news feed all with streaming real time data. The processor is able to handle everything except there are a few lags here and there. Especially when I open up a browser, there is a 3 second hang.

So I want to get a motherboard that supports my current cpu, graphics cards, ide dvd drives and also supports at least 8 gb of ram(Do I need more?) on windows 7 64 bit pro.

Also, is ddr 3 faster than ddr 2?

thanks

More about : pentium ghz build

a b U Graphics card
June 11, 2011 12:00:15 AM

The RAM "loss" is your 32 bit OS which can only "see" about 3.3 gig of RAM including the memory on the gfx cards installed .

The pentium is such legacy hardware that finding a motherboard to fit , and esp to fit a dell case is probably impossible .

You could just install 64 bit Win 7 on that machine , but the smart money says build from scratch and then transfer all your settings and data to a new machine using the setting s wizard .
No chance of data loss , no down time , and surely affordable

Antec sonata case w/ power supply
intel i3 2100
2 x2 gig of RAM
H67 motherboard with vga, DVI and HDMI outputs
as many hard drives as you want . Id install at least TWO in RAID 1 so you have real time data back up
use the gfx card if you need it [ depends on the monitors you have and their connectors ]
a sata dvd drive
win 7 PRO 64 bit

Its not worth messing about IMO .
Do it right first time
m
l
June 11, 2011 12:15:49 AM