Sign in with
Your question
Solved

I could use a pick me up! (pc upgrade)

Last response: in Systems
June 11, 2011 9:14:15 PM

Hello everyone, as you see I am a noob to this site but have been recommended to check it out by countless people, thus, here I am. My main question is about what parts of my pc to upgrade which will yield decent gains but will still be viable years to come.

My PC Story
Spoiler
So some background about my rig, I was given my current pc (specs are below) and am absolutely loving pc gaming. I have mainly been playing rpgs like, The Witcher 1 and 2, Mass Effect 2 , Oblivion, etc. It is great but I hate that I have to play the majority of them at the lowest settings. But hey it was free so wtf, can't complain too much. Here is where I hope you guys can give me some advice.

Budget: Somewhat flexible as I probably won't be getting anything within the next couple months, mainly want a rig that can run Skyrim on med settings. Also I can ask a couple family members to go in on a part to get me for Christmas and such so yeah. Basically just putting the feelers out there.

Current rig:
Processor= Intel Core 2 quad cpu @ 2.66GHz (intel core 2 extreme qx6700)
Video Card= Nvidia GeForce 8800Gts (640Mbs)
PSU= HX62O Watt (corsair)
MObo: Intel D975XBX2kr
RAM: 4gb Kingston ddr2
Case: Thermaltake Shark
Resolution/screen: no idea haha All I know is that it is from Dell (like ones you get from buying a pc)

Thanks!

More about : pick upgrade

Best solution

June 21, 2011 8:45:59 PM

I'd upgrade your video card and call it good. The rest for gaming is pretty standard, especially if you have a 32bit system. If you have a 64bit, upgrade the ram!

With a new videocard, you will be blown away with the difference. Just pick one in your budget and dont forget to read the NUMEROUS posts on which card is better. Toms Hardware even has a section where they compare performance, so please check that out too.
a b B Homebuilt system
June 21, 2011 9:05:06 PM