My First Build in 10years, making a Dig Audio Workstation

marsxmarsx

Distinguished
Mar 7, 2010
I am building my first computer. I used to build computers in the 90s, but I haven't built one since about 2000. I'm trying to crash course and pick the best equipment I can afford for my needs. I am a musician using Windows 7 Pro with digital music software that is also 64-bit and claims to be multithreading and takes advantage of as many cores as there are available. I was going to go with an AMD because they have some with 6 cores and are cheaper but after reading a log of blogs, I am convinced that Intel is the way to go.

Here are the main components I have narrowed it down to:

Hi,

I used to build computers in the 90s and then had a bad injury and stopped making much music and working on computers. I have had a weak computer and have done some music, but the computer has been very limiting to the number of tracks I want to record and the number of "plug-ins" I want to use, so I've decided it is time to get a new computer. However, I can't afford to buy a high end new computer so I priced it out and if I build one, I should be able to make one powerful enough for my needs at around 800.

First let me state that I will be using Windows 7 Pro 64-bit with a DAW (digital Audio Workstation) that is also 64-bit and many of the plug-ins are also 64-bit. Those plug-ins that are 32 bit can still be used thanks to an ingenious programs that makes 32 bit plug-ins accessible in a 64-bit environment. That said, here is my thinking; any feedback or guidance you can give me will be greatly appreciated.

First I was going to get an AMD six core processor, not only to save money, but because my DAW software says that it will utilize as many processors as you have, whether it you have on six core processor or 12 4 core processors, it will utilize them all for the various functions necessary in the demanding music recording and processing environment.