I want to build and would like some help.

LearninginProgress

Distinguished
Jun 13, 2011
Hello forum.
This is my first build and I’m actually as excited as a kid in a candy store. There’s no rush to get this build done as I’m actually looking forward to the experience of placing a computer together(with the help of the fine people here at the forums) than to actually use it…but want to be blown away when I use it. Like a “WOOOOAH I built this..I actually built this!” type of blown away. Then I would like to take the next step and begin experimenting with overclocking.

Approximate Purchase Date: 2 months from now.

Budget Range: $600-$800
I know this is a vague budget but I’m in the mindset that I want to make a good build for my needs that does not break the pig but if I need to go a bit higher to stay “future proof” or to make sure I’m getting the best out of all my components, so be it.
Before: Rebates

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Moderate gaming, HD video viewing(?) Media Storage, College(Yes, blame my youth for having my priorities mixed up,lol), Photoshop.

Parts Not Required: Speakers, Monitor, Video Card, OS, Hard Drives, Keyboard and Mice.
Video Card: Evga GeForce GT 430 1 GB DDR3(01G-P3-1430-LR)

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Newegg or another site that is cheaper but reliable. Sadly Amazon isn’t in the computer parts business..
Country of Origin: USA

Parts Preferences:

Already have:
Antec Three Hundred Illusion $54.99

Interested in :

CPU
AMD Phenom II x4 955 $115

Mobo
ASUS M5A88-V EVO AM3+ $129.99
I'm looking at the M5A88-V with the assumption that AM3+ will still be viable down the line and allow me to upgrade to a good CPU years from now.
But if this mobo isn't right for me, please let me know.

PSU