24 gigs of RAM on ASUS P6T Deluxe v1 mobo

Status
Not open for further replies.

billmatthiesen

Honorable
May 27, 2012
I wanted to expand the memory on my ASUS P6T Deluxe (v. 1) motherboard ... and decided to go with (6) of the 4-gig Kingston KVR1333 chips.

But the computer (Win7 Professional) would only recognize 16 gigs. An improvement -- but not what I was hoping for.

After much fooling around, the solution was to go into the BIOS and under the AI Tweaker tab, you need to reset the DRAM FREQUENCY from [auto] to the actual value of your chips ... my case, 1333.

Worked like a charm and I didn't have to do any other tweaks with voltage, etc.

So if you encounter this problem, this would be a really easy first thing to try.

Hmmm ... now I'm tempted to see whether this could be upped to 48 gigs ... (I'm a video editor, so I can use all the memory I can get for video rendering).

I hope this helps the next person fix this problem more quickly!

Solution
24GB is the stated MAXIMUM for your motherboard.

Other:
- always update your BIOS (sometimes contains new memory profiles and other things)
- always run MEMTEST at least once and always after changing any settings related to CPU or RAM
- if you OVERCLOCK the CPU, you may need to drop the RAM MULTIPLIER so that the RAM frequency does not exceed its maximum

www.ultimatebootcd.com

Nice goodies with UBCD. The recommended RAM tester is Memtest86+ v4.2.
24GB is the stated MAXIMUM for your motherboard.

Other:
- always update your BIOS (sometimes contains new memory profiles and other things)
- always run MEMTEST at least once and always after changing any settings related to CPU or RAM
- if you OVERCLOCK the CPU, you may need to drop the RAM MULTIPLIER so that the RAM frequency does not exceed its maximum

www.ultimatebootcd.com

Nice goodies with UBCD. The recommended RAM tester is Memtest86+ v4.2.

Solution

billmatthiesen

Honorable
May 27, 2012