Asus p8z77-v deluxe and i5 3570K not starting up - please help

Tags:
  • Asus
  • Intel i5
  • Motherboards
Last response: in Motherboards
May 31, 2012 2:05:17 PM

Good morning everyone,

I just purchased parts to build a nice gaming rig and I built it all up last night. This is my second build ever but first in about 5 years so I have some experience but not a whole lot. Much to my disappointment, it did not start on the first couple of tries. After some self trouble shooting, I was still unable to figure out what I had done wrong. Maybe someone here can help?

Hardware:

asus p8z77-v deluxe
i5 3570K
corsair tx750 power supply
evga gtx570 graphics card
2x 8gb sticks of DDR3-1600 RAM

Issue:

Plugged everything in and screwed it all down in my case. Turned the sucker on and nothing happened. The LED's on the Mobo light up but no fans start spinning or anything. It does not seem like there is power going to any of the parts. I checked the two ATX plugs from the PSU to the mobo and they seem fine (the LED's are working). I thought it was also interesting to note that the PSU fan has not come on (not sure if that is important).

My only two thoughts at this point are--perhaps I have a faulty mobo or PSU? I am thinking its not the PSU since the LED's are coming on. I took out one of the sticks of RAM to see if maybe it was a faulty stick of RAM and it did not change anything. Even then, I would not think this would cause the whole system to not even turn on.

Any thoughts or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

More about : asus p8z77 deluxe 3570k starting

a b Ĉ ASUS
a c 330 V Motherboard
May 31, 2012 2:55:08 PM

Check the PSU for the ON/OFF switch ....

m
l
May 31, 2012 3:03:58 PM

Plugged PSU directly into powerstrip all my other electronics run through. Used the on/off switch so I don't think it is that.
m
l
Related resources
a b Ĉ ASUS
a c 330 V Motherboard
May 31, 2012 3:07:52 PM

U are using stand-offs, right?

Any LED is on the mobo?