Sign in with
Your question

Replacing GPU fan

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
April 3, 2011 11:40:25 PM

My GPU has been making a strange noise for the past week on and off. Now it's consistently making the odd noise and will change if I adjust the fan speed. I'm now 90% sure it's the fan and now looking for a replacement fan. A whole new GPU would be an option if I wasn't a starving college student :na: 

My GPU is a 5770:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

Gathering from the back sticker of my current GPU fan, it was 43 amps and 12v. (If that's any help)

More about : replacing gpu fan

a c 172 U Graphics card
April 4, 2011 1:34:02 AM

I suggest a new cooler if possible, I personally own Zalman coolers that being the VF900 and the VF1000. Either one will be enough for your card and make much less noise however they are not cheap. I am a student my self and I know how it feels to be broke.
m
l
a b U Graphics card
April 4, 2011 6:39:45 AM

i recently swapped my cooler out for the same reason. (i cant recomend any 1 buy powercolour gfx cards as there customer service , more than sux)...
any hoo... i have a 5970 and i replaced it with a dedicated cooler from arctic cooling and im glad i did. i have a near silent pc now, even at load.

so maybe you can check them out... see if they have something that works for you in your price bracket.
m
l
January 24, 2013 1:10:42 PM

HEXiT said:
i recently swapped my cooler out for the same reason. (i cant recomend any 1 buy powercolour gfx cards as there customer service , more than sux)...
any hoo... i have a 5970 and i replaced it with a dedicated cooler from arctic cooling and im glad i did. i have a near silent pc now, even at load.

so maybe you can check them out... see if they have something that works for you in your price bracket.