Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Flaky Kingston PC2-4200 533MHz DDR2

Last response: in Motherboards
June 2, 2012 2:21:16 AM

I've been running a pair of these (2GB total) in my PC (ASUS P5LD2 motherboard, P4 at 3GHz) for years, but recently I've been having random freezes. Replacing them with another pair of the same did not help. However, the machine did work fine if I put in just the original pair of 512KB sticks (1GB total), which have the same specs.

So, I started playing around with some of the settings in the BIOS, and found that the machine works fine with the 2GB of Kingston RAM if I slow down the memory bus to 400MHz (PC2-3200).

I find it unlikely that both the RAM I've had in there for years, and a newly opened package of the same, would have a problem, so I'm suspecting something wrong with the memory controller instead, that is making it unreliable at full speed, at least in combination with the Kingston RAM (coincidentally, the SATA controller on this board started getting flaky recently too; I replaced it with a PCI SATA card and all is well).

Anyway, I'm wondering if I got get the RAM working again at its full rated speed by upping the voltage slightly, but I'm not an overclocking expert (if I wanted a super fast machine, I wouldn't be running a seven year old P4), and don't know how high I can go without risk of damage.

Any input would be appreciated.

Or maybe it's just time for a new machine (I've had my eye on those Intel Mini-ITX boards).
a b Ĉ ASUS
a c 435 V Motherboard
June 2, 2012 1:18:21 PM

If your system is stable, I wouldn't change anything else. It's too old to benefit from small increases in ram speed. If you're unhappy with it, start saving for a cpu/board/ram upgrade. I wouldn't get any mini-itx boards, unless you just don't have much space. They tend to run too warm in some of those tiny cases. Go with micro atx which is actually cheaper with some boards.
June 2, 2012 4:05:26 PM