$350 To Spend Upgrading My PC - HELP PLEASE!

giraffem

Distinguished
Jun 18, 2011
This is my first time doing this, so please forgive any "noobie" questions I may have.

I already have the following:

Geforce 9800 GT

and my internal hard drive already loaded with XP and such (does this matter, or are they all compatible?) I can get more info. on it if necessary.

I plan on purchasing the following:

Processor (quad core please :D)

Motherboard

Memory (4G since I am on XP)

PSU

Assuming that is all I will need to build my PC, and if it isn't, please let me know what else I will be needing. Do I need any cooling/fans? I already have one fan.

I have browsed Newegg for multiple hours and truly cannot find what seems to be the "best" combo for my price. I am looking at the $350 range.

Could you guys help me out with the supplies and information I need? I'm not the most knowledgeable when it comes to computers, I just want to create a better one so that my gaming does not suffer. Thanks a TON, I appreciate this more than you guys understand. :) Have a great day.

giraffem

Distinguished
Jun 18, 2011
I will not be using it anymore, I plan to buy a new power supply (I put PSU).

I don't know any of the specs to be completely honest, I will be throwing everything away after I purchase all the new parts.

The only parts that I will be using from my PC right now are the graphics card (Geforce 9800 GT) and the hard drive (I don't know the specs., do they matter?)

Again, sorry about the oblivious questions. This is literally my first time doing this.

giraffem

Distinguished
Jun 18, 2011
It's not decent, I assure you that haha. It's seriously 7 years old and has been heating up like an oven on a daily basis. I wouldn't keep it even if it were great, it has outlived its welcoming. :lol: It's no more than 300W-400W though, my entire PC was built for $300-$400 around 7 years ago.